Schools

 

BRITISH BOARDING SCHOOLS

“Our goals as educators are surely to
equip children with the necessary skills
and capacities that will enable them to
thrive in the future and be happy,
confident citizens of the world.”

~ Headmaster, John Brett

LENGTH OF STAY

School Britannia can recommend a large selection of schools which would welcome French children and guarantee that they enjoy the full, British boarding school opportunity.  The longer your child is able to spend at a British boarding school, the larger your choice of establishment – and the more beneficial the experience. Many schools will only take a pupil for a minimum of one year, but – if there are spaces in a boarding house – a stay of one term, or even less, can be arranged.  These shorter stays are easier to arrange between the ages of 8 to 13, after which British children will be starting to work towards their GCSE and ‘A’ level public exams.  The longer your child is able to spend at a British boarding school, the larger your choice of establishment – and the more beneficial the experience.

LOCATION

Whilst the majority of schools are situated in rural areas, it is possible to find a school in or close to a country town.  Many schools offer fully and weekly boarding as well as catering for day pupils.  Weekends are always busy, with both compulsory and optional activities and excursions.  Children can travel back home at Exeat weekends or arrangements can be made for them to stay with a friend or appointed guardian.

OPTIONS

Although all schools propose a wide variety of academic and sporting options, each school will have a particular strength or ethos which will help you in your decision.  There are many factors which may help you: a school strong in rugby, or in music; an all boys school or co-educational; a school with a large percentage of international students, or with a small number of full boarders.  It wouldn’t be exaggerating to say that you are spoilt for choice; there is so much on offer and all of it of excellent quality.

FEES

The price range for full boarding (2015/2016) is:

Prep School (8-13 years): between £6,500 and £8,500 per term

Public School (13-18 years): between £8,500 and £11,500 per term

BOARDING LIFE

Boarding pupils live in houses within the school, made up of between 20-55 children.  The team responsible for the children is committed and caring.  The staff aim to create a homely feel to the house and ensure the children’s happiness and well-being; there is always an adult available to talk to.  The house system varies slightly at each school, but generally a boarding house has a Housemaster or Housemistress (or House Parents) in charge, a Deputy Housemaster or Housemistress, a matron and house tutors (responsible for academic mattes and pastoral concerns).  A child will generally become very loyal to and proud of his particular house.

HOLIDAYS

Each term is divided by a week or 10 days of holiday, known as half-term, during which the school closes and all pupils go back home (or to stay with friends or family).  There are generally 3 weeks’ holiday at Christmas and 3 weeks at Easter.  The Easter holidays move according to the date of Easter Day so that it falls during the holidays and not during school time.  Exact holiday dates will vary between schools.

CONTACT

Parents can contact the school at all times.  Whilst most children will have a mobile telephone and computer and can call or email their parents, they are often too busy to do so.  If a parent has any concern, query or simply wants to have an update on their child, they can reach the housemaster, housemistress or tutor by telephone or email.  The school website generally has a list of email addresses for all members of staff which can be used if a parent has a particular question or comment to make.

FAQ

Click here for a quick guide to some of the things on offer at a British boarding school.

 

Click here to make an enquiry

 

Trouver un college RUGBY

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons

Les écoles

Les boarding-schools britanniques

« Notre but en tant qu’éducateurs est
d’équiper les enfants avec les compétences,
le savoir-faire et les capacités nécessaires
à leur succès et bien-être en tant que
citoyens du monde futur. »

~ Principal, John Brett

Durée du séjour

School Britannia vous offre un choix de boarding-schools qui accueillent des enfants français. Le choix d’établissement sera d’autant plus vaste que votre enfant envisage d’y rester longtemps. Aussi en est-il de la qualité de l’expérience. La plupart des écoles n’accepte l’enfant que pour une année entière minimum. Dans certains cas, s’il reste des places, un séjour d’un trimestre ou moins est aussi possible. Les séjours plus courts sont fréquents pour les enfants âgés entre 8 et 13 ans. A partir de 13 ans, les enfants commencent à préparer les deux examens publics de leur scolarité : les GCSEs (General Certificate of Secondary Education – 16 ans) et les A-Levels (Advanced Levels – 18 ans). Plus la durée du séjour de votre enfant est longue, plus il y aura de choix d’établissements et plus l’expérience sera bénéfique.

Localisation

La plupart des écoles se trouve en pleine campagne, mais il est possible d’en trouver certaines à proximité de villes de province. L’internat comprend des pensionnaires à plein temps (lundi au dimanche), des pensionnaires à la semaine (lundi au vendredi), des pensionnaires externes. Les weekends sont toujours remplis d’activités et d’excursions, parfois obligatoires. L’enfant peut rentrer chez lui un weekend sur trois (exeat weekend), ou se rendre chez des amis ou son tuteur local.

Options

Bien que toutes les écoles proposent une grande variété d’options académiques et sportives, chacune d’entre elles a ses spécificités propres et un esprit particulier. Avoir cette information vous aidera dans votre décision : une école bonne au rugby, ou en musique ; une école mixte, ou non/pas ; une école avec un grand nombre d’élèves internationaux, ou avec peu d’internes. Le choix est extrêmement divers et riche ; il existe beaucoup de possibilités et toutes sont d’excellente qualité.

Prix

Les frais de scolarité en pensionnat (2014/2015) sont dans les fourchettes suivantes :

2015/2016

Prep Schools  (8 à 13 ans) : entre 6.500 et 8.500 GBP par trimestre

Public Schools ( 13 à 18 ans) : entre 8.500 et 11.500 GBP par trimestre

La vie d’interne

Les enfants internes habitent dans des ‘maisons’, où y vivent 20 à 55 enfants de tous âges présents à l’école, avec un fort sentiment d’appartenance. L’équipe d’hébergement est dévouée et attentionnée. Le personnel vise à créer une atmosphère joyeuse et de bien-être ; un adulte est toujours disponible pour parler avec les jeunes. Le système peut légèrement varier en fonction des écoles, mais en général chaque maison est prise en charge par un responsable (‘house-mistress’ ou ‘house-master’), un adjoint, une infirmière matrone, et des tuteurs (ces derniers suivent les questions académiques et pastorales de votre enfant).

Vacances

Chaque trimestre (‘term’) est coupé par une semaine ou 10 jours de vacances appelées ‘half-term’, pendant lesquelles l’école est fermée. Chaque enfant rentre chez lui (ou se rend chez des amis ou de la famille). Les vacances de Noël et de Pâques durent généralement 3 semaines. Les dates exactes des vacances varient en fonction des écoles.

Contact

Les parents peuvent contacter l’école à tout moment. Même si la plupart des enfants ont un portable et un ordinateur, ils n’ont souvent pas le temps de les utiliser. Si un parent est inquiet, a une question ou souhaite juste savoir comment se porte son enfant, il peut à tout moment contacter le responsable de la maison par téléphone ou e-mail. Le site internet de l’école donne les adresses e-mails correspondantes.

FAQ

Voici un petit guide des choses proposées dans les boarding-schools britanniques.

 

Cliquez ici pour faire une demande

 

RUGBY

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons